RSS

London Fashion Week: Mary Katrantzou Fall 2012 RTW

24 Feb
London Fashion Week: Mary Katrantzou Fall 2012 RTW

When I use the words “blown away” I am always completely sincere, but after looking at Mary Katrantzou’s Fall 2012 RTW Collection, I question whether I meant it is as much as when I saw this collection. It would be fair to say that “blown away” doesn’t quite cover when I felt when looking at each piece. I am amazed, bewildered, impressed, and so many other words I do not know that describe being completely and utterly impressed beyond words with this level of artistry. This is the first collection I have seen of hers, and the last time I felt so strongly about a designer, was when I first discovered the late Lee Alexander McQueen. Each piece in Katrantzou’s Fall collection seemed more elaborate than the last. The prints, the structured silhouettes, the movement of the garments combined with the beautiful colors was almost overwhelming. From what I’ve read, the patterning was extremely difficult and intensive. The looks included “magic-eye” like pictures that some would find difficult to recognize. The bodice of a rococo red velvet dress featured a red typewriter. The keys providing a coiling abstract geometry on the skirt. This collection was truly a show of fine art. My breath was completely taken away. It is a reminder to the world that fashion is indeed an art, no matter how many things you sell.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
